Home / Regions / Egypt / Province Red Sea / Description

Province Red Sea

The Red Sea Province has some of the world's most famous resorts: Hurghada, El Gouna, Sahl Hasheesh, Makadi, Soma Bay, Safaga, El Quseir, Port Ghalib, Marsa Alam and Berenice.

The main road of national importance is along the shoreline of the Suez Canal to Berenice. The mainland is connected with the province of a few highways: Safaga-Qena-Luxor, El Quseir, Ken; Marsa Alam -Itfu-Aswan, Zafaran Ain Sokhna, Cairo and Zafaran-Suez-Port Said.

The capital of the Red Sea is Hurghada, which is the residence of the Governor and his administration.

In the Province of the Red Sea, is where most of Egypt's hotels are located. At present there are more than 250 hotels, which will shortly increase to 260. Tourists come from all over the world to enjoy what the region has to offer. In 2009, the total number of tourists staying in hotels in this region amounted to more than 4 million people.

Due to the sheer volume of tourists visiting Hurghada, it was felt that tourism was the main source of income for this region. However, this is not true, because the Province of the Red Sea is rich in minerals and produces more than 75% of the oil and gas in Egypt. Also here, since the days of ancient Egypt and the pharaohs, it has been mined for gold and silver.  Besides gold and silver, oil and gas minerals, the Province is rich in manganese, phosphates, chrome and emeralds.

Administratively, the Province of the Red Sea is divided into 6 districts:

Hurghada - the Centre of the Governorate
Ras Gharib
El Kusair
Marsa Alam

The population of the province is more than 300 000 people (2009), of which Hurghada is home to about 83,000 people.




Weather in:

Exchange Rates

1 USD = 16.200 LE
1 EUR = 18.040 LE